Search Location

Account Login

Forgot password?


Cleveland Play House Honored at National Corporate Theatre Fund Chairman's Awards Gala

Posted April 12, 2012 in Press Releases

Harry Connick, Jr. Honored at National Corporate Theatre Fund Chairman's Awards Gala

Cleveland Play House, Cleveland Clinic & James Turley, CEO of Ernst & Young Also Receive Honors

Mariska Hargitay Presents Connick, Jr. Award

New York, NY(Tuesday, March 27, 2012): On Monday, April 30th at New York City’s Pierre Hotel the National Corporate Theatre Fund (NCTF) will honor Harry Connick, Jr.,Cleveland Clinic, Cleveland Play House, and James S. Turley (CEO & Chairman of Ernst & Young) at their annual “Chairman’s Awards Gala: Funding New American Theatre.” David Alan Grier, renowned Broadway and Television star, emcees. Ernst & Young, Cisco Systems and RVM INC also co-chair the evening’s festivities. Emmy award winner Mariska Hargitay will present to Connick, Jr., and Broadway and television actressKate Mulgrew will present to the Cleveland Play House. Joe Dowling, Director of the Guthrie Theater in Minneapolis, will present to Turley. Over three hundred theatre patrons, Broadway leaders and industry professionals from across the country will gather for an evening honoring individuals and institutions who have made significant contributions to the national theatre community. The gala will raise funds for NCTF member theatres in the U.S., some of America’s finest not-for-profit theatres.

“NCTF supports national theatre utilizing innovative partnerships with companies, individuals and artists to enhance the cultural lives of our communities,” said NCTF Executive Director, Bruce E. Whitacre. “Our honorees reflect that innovation and vision by combining theatre with other endeavors: economic development, medicine, cultivating a people-oriented professional culture, and bringing the heart and soul of jazz to Broadway. Their leadership serves as an example of the creative engagement crucial to sustaining cultural and economic vitality.”

Three-time Grammy Award winner, two-time Emmy Award winner and Tony Award nominee Harry Connick, Jr. will receive NCTF’s 2012 “Theatre Artist Award.” While he first reached a mass audience as a pianist, singer and bandleader, his subsequent success in theatre, film, and television have secured his place in the public eye as a renaissance man and a versatile entertainer. Connick Jr. has distinguished himself as a “theatre artist” on Broadway performing in On a Clear Day You Can See Forever and The Pajama Game and penning music and lyrics for Thou Shalt Not.

The prestigious and innovative Cleveland Clinic is the evening’s institutional honoree. They provide over $150 million in free health care to Cleveland’s poorest, are a leader in the nation’s medical research and education, and provide economic stability to Northeast Ohio and the State of Ohio. The Cleveland Clinic's "Art & Medicine Institute" is healing through the arts with physical, mental and spiritual relief for patients and families(U.S. and abroad) from the stress of treatment for very serious ailments. The Cleveland Clinic’sPresident and Chief Executive Officer Toby M. Cosgrove, M.D. will accept the award.

Cleveland Play House, America’s first professional regional theatre, receives the 2012 “Achievement in Theatre Award” for their many accomplishments on stage, in theatre education, and in service to the people of Northeast Ohio. Founded in 1915, CPH has produced over 1,100 shows including more than 100 world and/or American premieres, and serves up to 20,000 young people annually through its education programming. Most recently, CPH was a partner in “The Power of Three - The Allen Theatre Project.” This $32 million dollar partnership is a collaboration of PlayhouseSquare, Cleveland Play House, and Cleveland State University to create a truly innovative cultural arts and education center in the heart of Cleveland’s theatre district. Artistic Director Michael Bloom and Managing Director Kevin Moore will accept on behalf of the Cleveland Play House.

James S. Turley, CEO of Ernst & Young, and chairman of NCTF will receive the “NCTF Leadership” award. NCTF honors Turley’s inspirational leadership as Chairman of NCTF for the past six years. As Chairman, Turley has seen NCTF grow as an organization and, through a strategic planning process, guided the organization to explore new avenues of support and strategic initiatives.

The gala is black tie and includes a silent auction, cocktails, entertainment and dinner. For more information, contact, 212 750 6895 or visit:

About National Corporate Theatre Fund
National Corporate Theatre Fund (NCTF) is a not-for-profit association dedicated to sustaining America’s finest not-for-profit theatres, on the stage and in the community, through innovative partnerships with companies, individuals and artists. From its base in New York, NCTF provides a national vehicle for the flow of theatre, collaboration and ideas to and from key markets.

Since 1978, NCTF has raised millions of dollars for its member theatres. NCTF theatres contribute to our creative and cultural life - benefiting local communities, children, employees and the economy. Productions they originated have transferred to New York and other theatres, and have won dozens of Tony Awards and Pulitzer Prizes. They enrich lives of the local residents, provide creative opportunities for distinguished and emerging performers, serve as incubators for new works, and engage over 500,000 children, most from economically disadvantaged neighborhoods through their theatre education programs.

NCTF member theatres include the Actors Theatre of Louisville, American Conservatory Theater, American Repertory Theater, Center Theatre Group, Cleveland Play House, Guthrie Theater, Long Warf Theatre, The Old Globe, Seattle Repertory Theatre and Trinity Repertory Company. Their Affiliate Network includes the Alley Theatre, Alliance Theatre, Arena Stage, Arizona Theatre Company, Dallas Theater Center, Denver Center for the Performing Arts, Hartford Stage, Manhattan Theatre Club, and Walnut Street Theatre.

The following artists serve on NCTF’s Artistic Advisory Council, generously donating their time and energy to support NCTF’s fundraising and sponsorship initiatives: Edward Asner, Brent Barrett, Annette Bening, Robert Brustein, Kathleen Chalfant, Glenn Close, Billy Crudup, Gordon Davidson, David Henry Hwang, Cherry Jones, Swoosie Kurtz, John Lithgow, Jerry Mitchell, Kate Mulgrew, Laura Pels, David Hyde Pierce, Daryl Roth, Marian Seldes, Patrick Stewart, Richard Thomas and Paula Vogel.

Go back to newsroom

Don't miss a thing. Sign up for our newsletter.

Get behind the scenes info, sneak peeks, show news and more.

  • facebook
  • twitter
  • instagram
  • flickr
  • youtube
  • pinterest

Our Theatres

Allen Theatre

Allen Theatre

Helen Theatre

Helen Theatre

Outcalt Theatre

Outcalt Theatre

The Allen, Helen and Outcalt theatres are located at Playhouse Square
1407 Euclid Avenue Cleveland, OH 44115

Administrative Offices and Education Center
1901 E. 13th Street, Suite 200 Cleveland, OH 44114 (216) 400-7000

Production Center
7401 Detour Avenue, Cleveland, OH 44103